Gluten free vitamins contains wheat starch

I've been trying to find Vitamin D3 tablets that do not contain maize/corn, gluten, wheat, soya. (tried various brands including some prescribed by Dr and none agree with me.)

I found Bioglan Vitamin D3 which seemed to fit the bill and have been taking them for a week or so. My mood lifted somewhat, however I was getting clammy hands and a feeling of upset feeling in my stomach and i attribute these symptoms to my diet, due to past experiences, and these have been the only change in my diet.

The website states all their products are gluten free. No allergens were listed in the ingredients. I contacted their rep to find out more info. They stated the product contains no allergens according to the law. I dug deeper and asked what the glucose syrup was derived from....answer is, wheat starch, please see below.

'Please note Glucose syrup is exempt from allergen (gluten) declaration, in so far as the process that they have undergone is not likely to increase the level of allergenicity assessed by the Authority for the relevant product from which they originated.'

I understand the company are complying with the laws regarding gluten, as can be seen here:

but i do find, especially in this case that the company is not being as transparent with the consumer as they can or at least trying to create a product which they can fully stand by as being 100% gluten free, as if they were not thinking of profits over the consumers health they could derive the glucose syrup from another source.

The level according to the law is not toxic to people with coleiac disease, but can this be a reason why some people with autoimmune diseases antibodies remain raised or continue to have symptoms? It has not caused a severe flare up in myself but definitely caused an immune response with the sweaty hands, feeling of unease in my gut.

After researching I found posts where coleiacs have taken Bioglan which has resulted in major bloating and they don't know why, this could be why, please if you are having symptoms check all the ingredients and dont be afraid to contact the manufacturer to find out what the ingredients listed on the product is derived from.

Can anyone suggest a Vitamin D3 brand with no allergens or corn?

Last edited by

4 Replies

  • Em_Lou,

    Try D3 softgel capsules which use olive oil or fish oil as the carrier. The fat in oil aids absorption of D3.

  • I have tried two different softgel brands one used maize oil the other olive oil - the one with olive oil user iron oxide..which is the only ingredient which looked a little iffy. I will test other softgel capsules. Thanks.

  • Em_Lou Have you looked at Doctor's Best, it's the one I use and contains only D3 and extra virgin olive oil.

    "Other Ingredients: Extra virgin olive oil, softgel capsule (gelatin, glycerin, purified water).

    The vitamin D3 contained in this product is derived from lanolin, a component of sheep's wool.

    Does Not Contain: milk, egg, wheat, gluten, corn, sugar, sweeteners, starch, salt, or preservatives.

    Contains nothing other than listed ingredients."

  • Use Biotics research Bio D mulsion Forte, which is liquid so no gluten (oil based emulsion not soya oil either) and you don't have to be sure to take with fattiest meal. A bottle lasts about a year.

You may also like...