Cheers!: It' s Christmas time and... - Gluten Free Guerr...

Gluten Free Guerrillas
9,342 members β€’ 3,816 posts

Cheers!

angelias
angelias
β€’11 Replies

It' s Christmas time and celebrating with a drink or two won't harm...on the contrary! Apart from "normal" beer, does anyone know what other alcoholics contain gluten? What about Baileys?

11 Replies
oldest β€’ newest
toeknee

urbantastebud.com/gluten-fr... big list of lots of Christmas cheer, enjoy.

2 likes
Reply
angelias
angelias
in reply to toeknee

Thank you toeknee. This is very useful...feeling tipsy just by reading the list!! 😁😁

Reply
Penel

When it comes to spirits, there's a debate about whether or not gluten 'survives' the distillation process. I'm ok with gin, which tends to be distilled from barley grains, others may not be.

Be generally careful about your alcohol intake, as your insides are still recovering from the gluten damage.

1 like
Reply
angelias
angelias
in reply to Penel

Thank you for your reply Penel. The dietician told me that my stomach & co. will be still inflamed for at least 6 months..so, yes, alcohol won't help...however, as it's Christmas time it will be difficult for me to say no to a drink or two πŸ˜‰

1 like
Reply
Penel
Penel
in reply to angelias

Perhaps alternate with non-alcoholic drinks? I have a lot of tonic with my gin!

1 like
Reply
Jerry

Hi Penel, according to the EFSA traces of gluten get through the distilling process,

whisky >1ppm

and for other spirits made from a forbidden grain it was >3.4ppm

Here's a link it's under opinions:

foodallergens.info/Legal/La...

Not all the opinion links work but in the first section opinions 2 and 4 work and are the relevant ones, it's not bed time reading... LOL

It is interesting as it also says that maltodextrin derived from wheat could contain up to 3ppm

I know it's classed as gluten free because it's below codex but I feel we have the right to know exactly what we are eating regardless of codex. And all I know is, if it's not zero gluten...

What I don't like is how they say these derivatives are unlikely to cause a severe reaction, well maybe some of don't want a reaction at all.

1 like
Reply
Penel
Penel
in reply to Jerry

Thanks for the information Jerry. It's an interesting read and it's certainly going to take some time to get through it!

Reply
KWebster179
KWebster179
in reply to Jerry

No, I don't want a reaction at all!! I'm extremely allergic. I start swelling head to toe, inside and out, even when I use a light seasoning on a steak that has Gluten in it! I practically live on Benadryl!! :-(

SUCKS!!!!

Reply
KWebster179

Hey!

-I am ALMOST 100% sure that "Silver Patron" (white label w/ a blue bee on it) is Gluten Free. ALMOST SURE!!!

-"Ciroc" (I THINK its Amaretto??) Not sure!

and

-"Red Bridge" has a pic of a long red bridge on the bottle. Looks like it could be beer...maybe?? IDK!

I saw all three of these on a list that said they were Gluten Free. BUT, we'll never know till we try!! If you try any of these before I do, please let me know! And if I do first, I'll let u know.

Thanks-

1 like
Reply
angelias

Cheers KWebster179!! πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Reply
KWebster179

lol... never mind!! I didn't see "the list"!!

Now I'm excited!!!

;-)

Reply

You may also like...