Introduce myself: Hi, I joined not long ago to... - Pain Concern

Pain Concern

29,858 members9,936 posts

Introduce myself

GRnads
GRnads

Hi,

I joined not long ago to see if anyone had had a certain surgery but felt I should introduce myself as I intend to hang around on here.

I hope this is in the right place :)

So I'm 23 years old and live in Cambridge. From the age of 9 I suffered with pain in my knee joints which got worse year after year. When I was 20 I was diagnosed with Chondromalacia Patella. It's controlled (Mostly) with Physiotherapy but as it's getting worse each year I'm hoping to have the surgery done.

At age 10 I was diagnosed with Plantar Fisciitis which also flares up time to time. Age 21 I was diagnosed with Costochondritis which I will admit is bad most days and sometimes causes me to collapse. I'm also hypermobile but that honestly doesn't cause too many issues.

I get sciatica most days following a minor car accident last year.

I have a lot of other pains that are undiagnosed. Such as sharp abdominal stabbing, lower back pains, shoulder pains etc.

I live with my partner who is 40, we don't have any children, just our pets. I feel bad for him as he has a broken spine following a motorbike crash years ago but he never complains when he comes home and finds me collapsed in pain unable to get up. I honestly owe a lot to him and the kindness and care he provides me without me even asking for help.

I'm hoping I will be able to help give some tips to other members while I'm here although in all honestly, I've not had much done for my issues. I don't like admitting my weakness and I hate hospitals so haven't had much advice myself after getting a diagnosis from the doctor.

2 Replies
oldestnewest

See an Alexander Teacher. There is potential for you suffering from a number of postural issues and muscle control as a result of your condition. An Alexander Teacher cannot cure what you have but they can enable you to reduce the discomfort.

Hope this helps.

GRnads
GRnads in reply to johnsmith

Thank you for the suggestion. I've never heard of it but have had a little Google. Sounds most interesting and is something I'd be interested in trying. Looks as though the closest one to me is an hour away - I may look into having the lessons on my day off from work. Thank you again for the suggestion.

You may also like...