As we do not know what process is adopted to make cheese...we really don't know if cheese we eat is vegetarian or non vegetarian....
But amul claims ..
Milk is coagulated by the addition of rennet. The active ingredient of rennet is the enzyme, chymosin (also known as rennin). The usual source of rennet is the stomach of slaughtered newly-born calves. On other hand, vegetarian cheeses are manufactured using rennet from either fungal or bacterial sources.
"We do not use any animal-derived rennet in our cheese. That makes it pure vegetarian, which is important for Indians. That is also why it says "vegetarian cheese" on the pack. As it also has a unique taste because it is derived from buffalo milk, NRIs across the world prefer to buy Indian cheese,'' said Amul marketing head RS Sodhi.