Gluten Free Guerrillas

Maltodextrin and Dextrose

Does Maltodextrin and Dextrose contain gluten? they seem to upset me.

8 Replies
oldestnewest

Hi jezabelle

Maltodextrin and dextrose can be derived from wheat, although the level they contain may be very low. Unless the label states that they have come from a naturally gluten free source, it’s a good idea to avoid them.

1 like
Reply

Hi jezabelle, as Penel rightly said they can be wheat derivatives and can contain gluten. Dextrose is also often used to coat frozen French fries.

And its also worth bearing in mind that all artificial sugars are known triggers for IBS.

Reply

Thank you Jerry.

1 like
Reply

Thank you Penel.

Reply

They upset me too so I just try to avoid them. In UK they do not have to be labelled 'derived from wheat', and they are not in bold, like standard allergens. Just another complication when shopping.

1 like
Reply

Thank you BabsyWabsy.

Reply

There are many foods, medicines that contain ingredients derived from wheat, if in doubt google it’s better than being ill. Do not take what you are told as gospel.

Reply

Thank you Pretender.

Reply

You may also like...