Career guidance for a fellow Zebra

Hi, I'm 24yr old female, with EDS type 3 and possibly type 2. I find physical work very difficult and painful. However, I don't want to be sat at home on disability benefits all my life. I am currently looking at doing things like dental nursing as that is a bit more than simple admin. I am currently studying computer forensics but it looks like i'll have to leave this course thanks to student finance.

Just wondering what kind of jobs (if any) fellow zebras go into.. and how you find them. I just feel a little lost since my illnesses getting worse and sending my plans of being a forensic anthropologist down the drain (I had to leave my uni course thanks to depression)

Any help would be very much appreciated!

2 Replies

  • I work for the nhs, commissioning services. It's very varied, interesting and desk based. I've just started using a wheelchair for work as crutches were too painful. It's, hopefully, going to be ok for me to carry on and not have to leave. (I'm just about to go back after sick leave for a foot op)

  • Hi this is good to hear. I've been stuck in a rut lately with not knowing what to do with myself. I'm doing what I can to look for jobs whilst studying at uni, but still find it difficult to go into lectures, let alone 9-5 job. I have been looking into jobs available for the NHS quite a lot lately; receptionist, dental nursing, was even looking into being a phlebotomist.

    Thank you for your reply, it's been very helpful and definitely makes me feel better :)


You may also like...