Hi folks, I see the new labelling laws have come into force today and they should make eating out easier for some of us. I'm not sure how they deal with cross contamination,
Here's a link from the FSA (this is very detailed)
And this is a paragraph saying what is included for gluten free and the exemptions (I'd like to see wheat derivatives labelled as exactly that)
" Cereals containing gluten namely wheat (such as spelt and Khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats and their hybridised strains and products thereof, except:
a) wheat based glucose syrups including dextrose
b) wheat based maltodextrins
d) cereals used for making alcoholic distillates including ethyl alcohol of agricultural origin "
I reckon that it's a great step in the right direction and should be very helpful to many as now eateries have to be specific about what is in the food, so they can't be vague. And it'll be interesting to see how it affects those of us who are gluten intolerant.
I think that we'll have to put up with Joe public thinking that having CD is a gluten allergy...