Could the veg samosas I ate have glut... - Gluten Free Guerr...

Gluten Free Guerrillas
9,338 members3,816 posts

Could the veg samosas I ate have glutened me?

barny
barny
9 Replies

hiya went to my nieces for the evening and she gave me a somoes she said it was made with corn flour but i have been on tiolet all night can any one tell me if they are gf thanks and felt sick too carnt think of anything else that i had only drink vimto juice

9 Replies
oldestnewest
Mia1057

Hi there it could be the spices in the samoeses as they may have been coated in flour but it also could be your vimto. From the vimto site it says Vimto is classed as gluten-free but it's description is There is a very small amount of gluten present which carries through from the barley malt used in its manufacture, but the level is far below the threshold above which it would be considered to contain gluten (20 parts per million).

A lot of us cannot tolerate any barley malt at all.

Reply
barny
barny
in reply to Mia1057

aww thanks mia very helpfull wont be having any more been so well for 6months then had to do something stupid hence why am on here at 4am lol happy easter xx

Reply
ianwoowoo

Are samosas deep fried? If so see they done in frier that may have had batter in? Hope you feel better soon.

Reply
Hidden
Hidden

samosas are usually made with wheat flour - they are made with a thin pastry which is then deep fried so surprising if they were gluten free

Reply
Gfmom

I love samosas! But unfortunately they are made with wheat flour. I don't think you could make pastry with cornflour but I might be wrong. I think onion bhajis and pakora are made with gram flour usually so they would be ok.

Reply
barny

ty gfmom i thought that too but she said they was do wish they would understand a bit more havnt been bad 2day thank goodness but just drained only been celiec 18months so new realy lol thanks a lot xxxxx

Reply
Gfmom

I take it back, I have just googled cornflour pastry and there were recipes there so maybe your niece wasn't wrong? I'm much newer than you barny, there's a lot to learn, isn't there!

Reply

You can definately make samosas gluten free. We have been sellng them on our website and are sellng chappatis etc too. All are GF and are lab tested . We don't cook anything containing gluten at our factory.All listed on Coeliac UK website!!

f-faf.co.uk

Reply
jillp

Vimto is definitely gluten free...website states it. It is very rare for anyone other than a coeliac or a firm offering gf foods to even think of making samosas gluten free.

Reply

You may also like...